Community of Graduate Students

HDFS graduate students come from all over the United States and around the world to study the wellbeing and healthy development of individuals and families across the lifespan in a range of contexts.

Students engage in vigorous programs of research, publishing work in scholarly, peer-reviewed journals and sharing work at professional conferences (regionally, nationally, and internationally). See where our graduate students have presented and published their work recently.

UConn’s graduate students are affiliated with the National Council on Family Relations (NCFR) through The UConn Council on Family Relations (UCCFR), a professional organization for graduate students who are preparing for academic careers in human development, family policy, and other related areas.


Adulthood, Aging, and Gerontology

Kaleigh Ligus

Kaleigh Ligus

kaleigh.ligus@uconn.edu

Debra Tomasino

Debra Tomasino

debra.tomasino@uconn.edu

Child and Adolescent Development

Sumbleen Ali

Sumbleen Ali

sumbleen.ali@uconn.edu

Daniell Carvalheiro

Daniell Carvalhiero

daniell.carvalhiero@uconn.edu

Eleanor Fisk

Eleanor Fisk

eleanor.fisk@uconn.edu

Veronica Hanna-Walker

Veronica Hanna-Walker

veronica.hanna-walker@uconn.edu

Abagail Horton

Abagail Horton

abagail.horton@uconn.edu

Samantha Lawrence

Samantha Lawrence

samantha.lawrence@uconn.edu

Michelle Miller

Michelle Miller

michelle.4.miller@uconn.edu

Anne Thompson Heller

Anne Thompson Heller

anne.heller@uconn.edu

Mackenzie Wink

Mackenzie Wink

mackenzie.wink@uconn.edu

Couples, Parents and Families

Huda Akef

Huda Akef

huda.akef@uconn.edu

Sumbleen Ali

Sumbleen Ali

sumbleen.ali@uconn.edu

Alyssa Clark

Alyssa Clark

alyssa.clark@uconn.edu

Yanzhen Kuang

Yanzhen Kuang

yanzhen.kuang@uconn.edu

Gonul Kuscul

Gonul Hilal Kuscul

gonul.kuscul@uconn.edu

Timothy McKay

Timothy McKay

timothy.mckay@uconn.edu

Alex Molaver

Alex Molaver

alex.molaver@uconn.edu

Tong Shen

Stephanie Shen

tshen@uconn.edu

Yuan Zhang

Yuan Zhang

yuan.5.zhang@uconn.edu

Diversity and Culture

Huda Akef

Huda Akef

huda.akef@uconn.edu

Daniell Carvalheiro

Daniell Carvalhiero

daniell.carvalhiero@uconn.edu

Minjung Choi

Minjung Choi

minjung.choi@uconn.edu

Vanessa Esquivel

vanessa.esquivel@uconn.edu

Abagail Horton

Abagail Horton

abagail.horton@uconn.edu

Yanzhen Kuang

Yanzhen Kuang

yanzhen.kuang@uconn.edu

Samantha Lawrence

Samantha Lawrence

samantha.lawrence@uconn.edu

Michelle Miller

Michelle Miller

michelle.4.miller@uconn.edu

Alex Molaver

Alex Molaver

alex.molaver@uconn.edu

Yuan Zhang

Yuan Zhang

yuan.5.zhang@uconn.edu

Health, Wellbeing, and Prevention

Antonia Caba

Antonia Caba

antonia.caba@uconn.edu

Ciara Collins

Ciara Collins

ciara.2.collins@uconn.edu

Rachael Farina

Rachael Farina

rachael.farina@uconn.edu

Emily Fritzson

Emily Fritzson

emily.fritzson@uconn.edu

Eminet Gurganus

Eminet Gurganus

eminet.gurganus@uconn.edu

Morica Hutchison

Morica Hutchison

morica.hutchison@uconn.edu

Qianxia Jiang

Qianxia Jiang

qianxia.jiang@uconn.edu

Samantha Lawrence

Samantha Lawrence

samantha.lawrence@uconn.edu

sara mckee

Sarah McKee

sarah.mckee@uconn.edu

Ellen Pudney

Ellen Pudney

ellen.pudney@uconn.edu

Taylor Rathus

Taylor Rathus

taylor.rathus@uconn.edu

Cali Salafia

Cali Salafia

cali.salafia@uconn.edu

Lexi Tomkunas

Alexandria Tomkunas

alexandria.tomkunas@uconn.edu

Tracy Walters

Tracy Walters

tracy.l.walters@uconn.edu

Lindsay Westberg

Lindsay Westberg

lindsay.westberg@uconn.edu